NEWS FROM THE SUPERINTENDENT

Spring Ahead

We have certainly had one of the toughest winters that I can recall.  It is a rare school year in which we are forced to cancel school fifteen times.  So that you understand where we are with our calendar, originally our last student day was May 30, 2014.  Because we missed fifteen days of school, our last student day will be June 4, 2014. We were able to do this because the IDOE granted a waiver for three days, we were allowed to use three days as eLearning Days, Maconaquah Schools’ Board of Education approved the use of the first week of our two-week Spring Break as five make-up days, which leaves three days to be made up in June, 2014. 



    Read more...

    IMPORTANT INFORMATION

    Make your textbook rental and lunch payments online!

    PAYredi

    Daily Announcements

    2014 Summer Swim Lessons & Swim Team Registration

    Would you like for your child to know how to swim?  Is your child interested in swimming competitively?  If you answered yes to either question, please see the attached registration form for the Maconaquah swim lessons held during the summer.  Registration is first come, first served so act fast!

    2014Swim Lessons.doc
    Maconaquah students and teachers have been training on STEM methods for over a year.  During the 2014-15 school year, Maconaquah Middle School will become a STEM school.  Below are some of Mrs. White's English students working on a STEM lesson covering forensics.  For more information on STEM or if you would like to be a parent or community advisory member, please contact Craig Jernagan at jernaganc@maconaquah.k12.in.us










    Student eLearning Expectations

    Please read through these expectations carefully!!!

    eLearning Student Expectations.docx

    If you have questions during the eLearning day, please use the list below to contact the appropriate person.

    ADMINISTRATIVE STAFF:

    Craig Jernagan     4000     jernaganc@maconaquah.k12.in.us

    Randy Baldwin     4001     baldwinr@maconaquah.k12.in.us 

    Sharilyn Spohn     4005     spohns@maconaquah.k12.in.us

    Angela Braden      4015     bradena@maconaquah.k12.in.us

    Taryn Pramis       4800     pramist@maconaquah.k12.in.us

    Maryann Rowlett     4900     rowlettm@maconaquah.k12.in.us

    Speech-Amanda Hall     4220     halla@maconaquah.k12.in.us

     

    GUIDANCE:

    Kim Bunn     4020     bunnk@maconaquah.k12.in.us

    Teri Hoffman     4025     hoffmant@maconaquah.k12.in.us

    Suzette Daine     4035     daines@maconaquah.k12.in.us

     

    VISUAL ARTS/HOME ARTS:

    Lindsey Kunkle     4304/4311     kunklel@maconaquah.k12.in.us

     

    ENGLISH:

    LaVeena Crow     4215     crowl@maconaquah.k12.in.us

    Brooks Myers     4219     knepperb@maconaquah.k12.in.us

    Elizabeth Resler     4212     reslere@maconaquah.k12.in.us

    Nina White     4113     whiten@maconaquah.k12.in.us

    Kristi Wittenberg     4218     wittenbergk@maconaquah.k12.in.us

     

    GAP:

    Stacy McCartney  4421/4108  mccartneys@maconaquah.k12.in.us

    Michelle Ladd     4421     laddm@maconaquah.k12.in.us

     

    MUSIC:

    Jeff Evans     4315     evansj@maconaquah.k12.in.us

    Gregg Reed     4305     reedg@maconaquah.k12.in.us

     

    PROJECT LEAD THE WAY:

    Sue Ellen Sopher     4308     sophers@maconaquah.k12.in.us

     

    SPANISH:

    Eli Reed     4202     reede@maconaquah.k12.in.us

     

    COMMUNICATIONS:

    Gregg Reed     4310     reedg@maconaquah.k12.in.us

     

    LIBRARY:

    Michele Walsh     4356     walshm@maconaquah.k12.in.us    

    MATHEMATICS:

    Cory Howard     4301     howardc@maconaquah.k12.in.us

    Diane Mast     4101     mastd@maconaquah.k12.in.us

    Ron Shaffer     4107     shafferr@maconaquah.k12.in.us

     

    SCIENCE:

    Marsha Piggott     4120     piggottm@maconaquah.k12.in.us

    John Sinnamon     4210     sinnnamonj@maconaquah.k12.in.us

    Josh Whaley     4103     whaleyj@maconaquah.k12.in.us

    Patrick Redmon     4104     redmonp@maconaquah.k12.in.us

     

    SOCIAL STUDIES:

    Kari Catanzaro     4216     catanzarok@maconaquah.k12.in.us

    Jennifer Smith     4042     smithj@maconaquah.k12.in.us

    Alyson West     4112     westa@maconaquah.k12.in.us

     

    PHYSICAL EDUCATION:

    Dustin Hays     4208     haysd@maconaquah.k12.in.us

    Stacy Broyles     4402     broyless@maconaquah.k12.in.us

    Tim Wittenberg     4213     wittenbergt@maconaquah.k12.in.us

     

    SPECIAL EDUCATION:

    Kristin Candelaria     4203     candelariak@maconaquah.k12.in.us

    Brigitte Kintner     4110     kintnerb@maconaquah.k12.in.us

    Jason Lake     4207     lakej@maconaquah.k12.in.us

     

    STUDY HALL:

    Barbara Smith     4056     smithb@maconaquah.k12.in.us

     

    COMPUTER TECHNOLOGY:

    Andy Steele     4410     steelea@maconaquah.k12.in.us

    TECHNOLOGY DEPARTMENT:

    Riley Conner/Tech     4999     connerr@maconaquah.k12.in.us

    Tech Center     5999


    MMS Announcements!!!

    Maconaquah Middle School VIDEO announcements are now available!!!!  Students may log into My Big Campus to view the video announcements.  If you do not know how to access the videos on My Big Campus, please see the attached document for help.

    Parents may visit
    http://www.youtube.com/macmiddlebraves to access the videos as well.  Please note that you may have to use Fire Fox or Chrome to view videos.
    How to access video announcements in My Big Campus.docx
    What is an eLearning Day??  Watch the video to find out more information!
    eLearning.wmv

    Coming Soon!!
    Maconaquah MIddle School will be piloting an eLearning program
    during the 2013-2014 school year.
    Students in grades 6-12 will learn from home on the following dates:
    November 26, 2013
    January 17, 2014
    February 14, 2014
    April 11, 2014

    Please read the following attachments for further information.
    Questions may be directed to middle school principal,
    Mr. Craig Jernagan.

    MMS eLearning Permission Slip
    eLearning Frequently Asked Questions


    STUDENT DROP OFF TIME

    Maconaquah Middle School student drop off time is from 8:00 AM to 8:30 AM.  The doors at Maconaquah Middle School will open each morning at 8:15 AM and classes will begin at 8:30 AM.  We ask that students are not dropped off earlier than 8:00 AM due to safety and security concerns.  

    AUP TEST-Laptop care and use

    All students must complete the AUP test with a 90% or above to earn the privilege of taking their computer home.  The test is open book!  Each student needs to have this test completed before August 6, 2012.  The link to the QUIA test is below.  To access the test click the link and type your first name and last name in the appropriate boxes.  Make sure you submit the test when finished.  Good Luck!    

    http://www.quia.com/quiz/3139231.html

    Bullying Report

    To make an anonymous report, please print the form and complete as much information as possible, but do not sign your name.  Turn the report into the office at the appropriate building.  Upon receipt of the report, an investigation will be conducted and established procedures will be followed.

    False reporting will be dealt with according to the school discipline policy.  Please refer to the student handbook for each building.
    BULLYING REPORT AND INCIDENT FORM.pdf
    Tuesday, April 22
    SOAR-After school program
    3:15 PM - 5:00 PM
    Thursday, April 24
    SOAR-After school program
    3:15 PM - 5:00 PM
    Friday, April 25
    Flex Schedule Day
    Flexible schedule students learn from off of campus.
    Friday, May 9
    Flex Schedule Day
    Flexible schedule students learn from off of campus.
    Tuesday, May 13
    SOAR-After school program
    3:15 PM - 5:00 PM

    Today, 4/18/2014
    High: 66 Low: 37
    Partly sunny
    8% chance of precipitation.
    Tomorrow, 4/19/2014
    High: 65 Low: 42
    Mostly sunny
    0% chance of precipitation.